Medical Advisory

The Medical Advisory Committee meets three times a year and reports to the Board of Trustees. The Committee operates under Terms of Reference which can be found here.

Professor Sharon Peacock CBE (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Microbiology, University of Cambridge
Expertise – Genomics & Epigenomics, Immunology & Infection

Professor Stuart Forbes
Professor of Transplantation and Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh
Expertise – Liver disease, Stem cells and transplantation
2007 Sir Jules Thorn Award winner

Professor Sophie Hambleton
Clinical Senior Lecturer & Hon Consultant, Paediatric Immunology & Infectious Diseases, Newcastle University
Expertise – Genetics, Immunology & Infection
2012 Sir Jules Thorn Award winner

Professor Sam Janes
Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Vice-Dean Research, Division of Medicine, University College London
Expertise: Respiratory medicine, TB, Cancer

Professor Heidi Johansen-Berg
Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience and Director of the Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging, University of Oxford
Expertise: Imaging, Neuroplasticity, Learning & recovery

Professor A.V. Ramanan
Professor of Paediatric Rheumatology, University of Bristol and Consultant Paediatric Rheumatologist, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children
Expertise: Rheumatology, Immunology, Clinical Trials

Professor Hugh Watkins
Radcliffe Professor of Medicine and Head of Department, Radcliffe Department of Medicine, University of Oxford
Expertise – Cardiovascular disease

“We were delighted that the Trust recognised the innovative way in which RBLI is working to help veterans with multiple challenges achieve truly independent living. Its significant pledge of support was also a powerful catalyst in drawing wider attention to our holistic care model, and the further £2.3m in donations which followed was crucial to the continuing development and replication of this unique concept”.

- Lisa Farmer, Director of Strategic Development, Royal British Legion Industies (RBLI)